Error
  • Error loading Modules:

Reviews written by Rose

71 results - showing 1 - 5 « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 Next » Results per page:
 
Hot Air Ballooning
 

Thrill of a lifetime, we would definitely go again

Overall:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Rose
July 20, 2011

Comments (0)
Report this review
 
Last updated: July 20, 2011
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Every one should experience the amazing experience of traveling in a hot air balloon at least once in their life! This sentiment was what prompted me to contact the Canyonlands Ballooning company. I wanted to plan it as a belated birthday surprise for my unsuspecting husband ;) Sandra was fabulous with helping me work out all the details, a true pleasure to deal with both on the phone and by email.

I have heard that a lot of balloon rides consist of going straight up, maybe hovering a dozen feet to the side, and then coming straight back down. Well let me tell you that is not what you get here! This experience is a full blown journey and adventure. The balloons flight path is in the hands of the wind, so they never know where they will land. And what better place to fly than over the surreal and mesmerizing landscape of Southern Utah.

We arrived at the meeting place - very easy to find!, and met our group. This was when I admitted to my husband that I had not woken him at 5am to go for a "special hike". We boarded the van that took us to the take off point where we were able to watch as the balloon was filled. So cool!

The balloon swiftly ascended into the heavens, smooth and fast, like a celestial elevator. Then we were off. I believe Lou said we were moving along in about 15 mph winds, but it doesn't feel windy at all as you are moving with it. The stability of the basket is very reassuring - I am afraid of heights, but I was very comfortable the whole time.

Our particular flight took off from the Dalton Wells area I believe, and then we flew West, Southwest.

Lou is the best pilot ever, so friendly and personable. He told us about all the canyons and other formations we were flying over. One very exciting thing is that you don't fly really high the whole time. Lou uses his skill to take the balloon real low, just above the tree tops in a magical glide. Suddenly a canyon might drop out below you in all its' grandeur. One of the most memorable parts of our flight was when Lou flew us down into the canyon and then back up the other side, the skillful flying whispered us close to the wall and whisked us out of the canyon without skimming a tree or rock - truly magic!

Lou prepared us all on how to hold on for the landing. We landed right at the edge of the road where the crew was radioed to pick us up. Then the balloon scooted us across the road and tipped slowly sideways so it was easy to climb out. What a blast! We were all laughing, it was so much fun.

We had a lovely champagne and/or sparkling juice toast to celebrate the landing.

This was so amazing and photos and memories to last our whole lives. Not only that, my husband and I are really anxious to fly with Lou again.

Bottom line, this was worth every penny, was a highly enjoyable and memorable experience, and we can hardly wait to do it again!!

 
Misc
 

Would Definitely Call Kenway Again!

Overall:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Rose
July 13, 2011

Comments (0)
Report this review
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

This is a wonderful dumpster company. They were prompt, efficient and friendly. I would definitely use their services again. Also, they did not have a "drop off rate" or miscellaneous other fees like some other places I called. Just a straight forward price, and excellent service.

 
Mattress
 

Pros and Cons

Overall:
 
5.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Rose
May 25, 2011

Comments (0)
Report this review
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

My husband and I were introduced to the classic Tempurpedic mattress while house sitting for a friend of mine. I was not expecting to like the mattress. I noticed over the week of sleeping on it that I was sleeping sounder through the night. I am a side sleeper and also noticed that I wasn't loosing circulation in my arms like frequently happens with the regular spring style mattress.

During a stay at a local resort, we were offered the chance to upgrade our room to one with a Tempur mattress, which we did. Once again I had the same experience. The normal pressure you feel laying on a more solid spring mattress is so reduced by the Tempur, it is an interesting and for me a very comfortable sensation.

We didn't order our Tempurpedic Classic for about another 6-8 months, just because of financing. We read a lot of reviews before actually ordering and so had a pretty good idea what to expect. We ordered our mattress direct from them so that we could take advantage of 0% financing option then offered, which was a much better deal than any local store.

The Tempurpedic site mentions that when the mattress comes it will "gas off" for a couple days. We decided that we would put our old mattress in the living room and use it till the gassing was over. This was NOT a pleasant experience, and I wouldn't recommend this mattress to anyone that doesn't have the option to sleep somewhere else till the smell is gone. I believe our mattress smelled strongly for at least 10-14 days.

There is no way I could or would have slept in there with that strong chemical smell. After that, I am always careful to wash sheets very regularly and now I do not notice any smell.

I read a lot of reviews about people not liking how they "sank into" the mattress, one person felt like it was a "hot coffin". My husband and I have never had that experience. I tend to wonder if this style mattress is preferable to people that are not overweight? I wonder if that was why they had that experience... My husband and I weigh 150lbs and 135lbs respectively.

We have had our mattress over one year now, and I am still very pleased and glad we invested in it. I am a little nervous as to how it will age over time... only time will tell.

The comments I read about owners trying to make use of the warranty were not reassuring, I just figure when it dies, it dies. As long as we get a good 12-15 years out of it, I will be happy.

Another thing I love about this is that since there are no springs, if myself or my husband roll over in the night, the whole bed doesn't respond. Our motions are deadened by the foam.

Our home, built in 1910, runs on the cold side. We use a heated mattress pad which we only turn on in the winter. We only use it on the lowest setting, and turn it off as soon as we get into bed. Without the initial heating, it feels like an ice block in our chilly upstairs. Mind you, our room only has electric baseboard heat, so it is much colder than your average bedroom. Once in the bed it retains heat well and is very comfortable.

Our house does not have any air conditioning and I was concerned about comments I had read about the mattress being hot. We have not noticed any extra heat in the mattress in the summer.

I will update if any issues present themselves...



 
Blu-ray / DVD
 

Not for Everyone, But Enjoyable to Me

Overall rating: 
 
3.5
Video:
 
4.0
Audio:
 
4.0
Extras:
 
1.0
Acting:
 
4.0
Story:
 
4.0
Overall:
 
4.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Rose
May 25, 2011

Comments (0)
Report this review
 
Last updated: May 25, 2011
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

This film is definitely more of an art film and nothing at all like what the box description says. We picked our copy up at a video store that was closing. My husband and I watched it together and were entertained but puzzled. But I didn't hate it by any means.

I re-watched the film about a month ago and now knowing not to expect the standard Hollywood type plot, I was able to take away a lot more from the nuances made in gestures and dialog. I quite like the film and I am glad we bought it. The unique style of the film almost gives you the sensation of being a voyeur into these episodes of the main characters lives. We don't know the "whole story" just what we see and hear in this present moment with them. I actually thought Defoe did a great job with his backward, secluded character. He is a delight to watch.

Yes, there is a horn type toot at one scene that is odd. After reading the review which mentioned it as being like an elf under a toadstool, I think of that when I see it and chuckle, but enjoy it none the less. The ending of the film is a bit of a shock, but it is meaningful. I think when you first see the film, you don't realize the importance of the opening scene...

 
Blu-ray / DVD
 

Strange, Memorable and Interesting

Overall rating: 
 
3.5
Video:
 
4.0
Audio:
 
3.0
Extras:
 
3.0
Acting:
 
4.0
Story:
 
4.0
Overall:
 
3.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Rose
May 25, 2011

Comments (0)
Report this review
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

I checked this out from my local library, now I am thinking of adding it to my collection. I personally quite like the use of "modern technology" mixed with the older clothing. The industrial office type scenes brought Winston Smith's office in 1984 to my mind. The styling of the costumes and sets were well done and I felt like it added a lot to the story.

The mystery of the film is interesting, although I wasn't quite satisfied with the ending. I wanted just a bit more for Donovan's character. There is a bit of humor laced into the film as well - the desk on the track scene. My husband and I still laugh about that now and then, and whenever I hear a snappy saxophone playing something similar to the music in the film at that point, I see the scene in my minds eye, what a hoot!

This film is definitely not for everyone, but if you enjoy seeing something different, with an artistic approach as opposed to the cliche Hollywood model, I think you would appreciate this film.

 
71 results - showing 1 - 5 « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 Next » Results per page: